The last couple days have been a whirlwind of interviews, transcribing, filming, photographing, editing, heat stroke, and not nearly enough eating or sleeping… However, I feel like it’s paying off. The intimidation of the world of multimedia is lifting and I am starting to feel more comfortable with the new elements of my trade. If that’s the only thing that I gain from this experience, it will all be worth it. Of course that’s not the only thing I have gained from being here, but it is a big one.

I interviewed my subject for my feature again today; this time with video and sound. It was my first time ever doing anything like this and I have to admit, I was incredibly intimidated. My subject, Janset Karavin, is a pantomime performer and she performs almost every day on Istikal (an extremely busy shopping promenade in Taksim). We interviewed today in her home, a little flat just off of Taksim Square, and aside from the man outside her window tearing the roof off of a shed and then replacing it, all went smoothly. Janset was very much at ease and easy to interview. She was agreeable, patient, cooperative, the perfect subject for my first video interview. I am so grateful to her for being so willing to work with me over the past 3 days. It has really been a great experience.

After our interview, we made our way to Istikal for her performance, which was really beautiful… Unfortunately, my filming of it was not as successful as I would have liked. She moves around a lot, and does so very quickly and I felt the whole time like I was scrambling or missing things. Additionally, I was having a hard time with the tripod I was using. I eventually got frustrated and gave up on the filming, which I figured it would be ok because I was much more successful filming yesterday’s performance, and I just sat and watched her perform. That was what I really enjoyed. Her movements are so calculated but graceful and the music she performs to is insightful and beautiful.

I was thinking about this whole experience today as I was watching her perform and how grateful I am to be a part of it. I have learned so much since I have been here and not just about my trade, but about people and cultures and religion and art forms and faith and courage and most of all, myself. My heart is happy.

Peace and Love

Leave a Reply

